Merging course in Brightspace

Merging Courses in Brightspace
Overview
Merging courses is normally a process by which an instructor would like to merge two sections of the same course together or two different cross-listed sections together in order to post to only one course.
Normally a "master" course is chosen as the main course, and the enrollments of the "children" courses are then added to that master course.

In Brightspace
Merging courses is possible in Brightspace:
Choose a Master course; all child sections merge into it.
Students and instructors will only see the Master in their course list.
The merge only combines enrollments—it does not transfer content or student work from child courses.
Before requesting a merge, copy all needed materials into the Master and ensure no students have submitted work in child courses (you’ll lose access after the merge).
Enrollments sync automatically from child sections to the Master.
In the Master course, you can filter/sort by section in Brightspace tools (e.g., Grades, Classlist, Discussions) to view each section separately.
Note: Merging courses is only recommended if an instructor will only be posting information for both sections that is not time or section specific.
It is not recommended for courses that require online assessments that need to be taken at different times with different groups.
Please also make sure that the Master course selected WILL NOT BE CANCELED, as that will cancel the entire merge, and un-merging will cause students to lose their submissions.
To request a course merge, please email id@rwu.edu with the following:
- Course names of all courses to be merged
- Master course
Merge requests will not be accepted after the first week of the semester given the nature of the merge (see above).
For further assistance, please email id@rwu.edu